Fried Chicken & Champagne Fest

About Event

On Saturday, October 22, hundreds of Chicagoans sipped on Champagne and indulged in fried chicken from Chicago’s top culinary talent at the second annual Fried Chicken & Champagne Fest. Benefitting Kendall College Trust, the event raised scholarship funds for culinary, hospitality and business students attending Kendall College.

The event brought together a dozen award-winning Chicago chefs frying up their best chicken renditions and vying for the ultimate honor – the Golden Hen Award. Chef Ryan McCaskey of Acadia won the hearts (and stomachs) of the judges, taking home the Golden Hen Award for the best dish and was also awarded Best Table Décor for his evergreen spread. Chef McCaskey’s take on Indian butter chicken with cilantro, red onion, cabbage, lemon juice and garlic naan bread gave judges and guests much to cluck about.

Guests also couldn’t get enough of Honey Butter Fried Chicken’s fried chicken strips topped with creamy honey butter, earning Chef Cam Waron and Chef Becca Waron the People’s Choice Award for the second consecutive year. In addition to the endless fried chicken, the event featured over 60 different types of Champagne donated by headlining sponsor Southern Glazer’s Wine & Spirits, and a VIP Champagne Lounge from Pops for Champagne.

“Fried Chicken & Champagne Fest was a huge success!” said Catherine De Orio, Executive Director of Kendall College Trust. “We couldn’t have asked for a better group of chefs and panel of judges, and we appreciate the time everyone put into the event.  We are also extremely grateful for our generous sponsors and guests! All the money raised will bring much needed financial assistance to our deserving students who represent the future of Chicago’s culinary scene.”

Participating Chefs

Acadia: Ryan McCaskey
Boka: Lee Wolen
Frontier: Brian Jupiter
Farmhouse: Eric Mansavage
Honey Butter Fried Chicken: Cam Waron and Becca Waron (2015 People’s Choice Award winner)
Leghorn: Jared Van Camp
Parachute: Beverly Kim
Prime & Provisions: Joseph Rizza
Pub Royale: Nate Tano
Salero/Wood: Ashlee Aubin
Three Aces/Charlatan: Matt Troost (2015 Golden Hen Award winner)